Patient Reviews

Reviews for General Dentistry Services Near San Diego, CA

OUR REVIEWS

Dr. Dovey understands that you have an overwhelming number of choices for dental care providers in the area. This is why he and his skilled team set themselves apart from other practices with their warm, inviting atmosphere and personalized, patient-oriented approach to dental care. When you visit our San Diego, CA office, you're immediately welcomed as a member of our dental family. Offering a range of general, restorative, cosmetic, and periodontal dentistry services, our respected facility will provide you with everything you need to achieve a beautiful smile and optimal oral health. Our office's familial culture is the reason why our patients have been coming back to Finest City Dental time and time again for over 30 years. We invite you to see what our patients have to say about the compassionate care of Dr. Dovey and his team.

Filter10 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from S.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 16, 2020

I have been going to Dr Dovey for the past year.  I have had two cleanings, fillings repaired and even a chipped tooth fixed.  The chipped front tooth was my most recent appointment.   The chip was really bad and I didn't even want to smile.  Dr Dovey understood the embarrassment that I was experiencing and handled me with pure professionalism.  Shannon was amazing getting me an appointment right away and Dr Dovey made my tooth look like nothing ever happened to it.     It is a good feeling going to a dentist that you can trust.  Dr Dovey and his staff are very honest and professional. My husband has recently started going to Finest City Dental and he has experienced the same satisfaction. Thank you Dr Dovey and his team at Finest City Dental! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 14, 2019

Came in today for a cleaning. Dr. Dovey and his team were great. Happy to have found a new dentist in San Diego. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 14, 2019

I started seeing Dr. Dovey earlier this year and have had nothing but positive experiences. I've come for two cleanings, gotten a cavity filled, and started Invisalign. Each visit Dr. Dovey and his team have been friendly, accommodating, and knowledgable. I know I'm in great hands and would highly recommend to anyone needing a dentist in San Diego. I've also never had to wait past my appointment time which is a huge plus. Thanks Dr. Dovey! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 26, 2019

I received a great, great cleaning and a thorough evaluation of my teeth. Both the hygienist, Bernadette, and Dr. Dovey are very detailed in their work. This is a new practice that replaced my dentist, Dr. Tubbesing. I'm very pleased to recommend it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 07, 2015

I was looking for a Dentist near Little Italy and through YELP, I found Dr. Tubbesing. I went there today, what a great day! The best Dental visit in years. Dr. Tubbesing, does the cleaning himself, a great way for Dr.to get to see what's going on with one's teeth. He is gentel, kind, thorough and very pleasant. I had gone to a Dentist in Hillcrest and she suggested "unnessary" dental work $$$$; decided to find another non-greedy Dentist.     Thanks heaven's for Dr. Tubbesing! To save money they will call my previous Dentist for my x-rays taken six months ago. No other Dentist would ever do that. By the way his staff, is very friendly and professional just like Dr. Tubbesing. Their prices are most reasonable as well. I walked out of their Office happy with clean teeth, plus I found a honest and excellent Dentist, which is a "rare find this days." Would recommend Dr. Tubbesing highly, you will not be disappointed! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 06, 2014

Tubbesing does his own cleaning. He's always friendly and is good at putting you at ease with conversation while he is cleaning. My teeth always feel clean after he works on them. The office is comfortable: it is on the 7th floor of the old Centre City Bldg, and the two dental chairs have nice views out the window and a nice breeze--one open window faces the water, the other the airport. Another good thing about Tubbesing is his attitude. I've had other dentists where I felt like they were just trying to get me to pay for more dental work than I needed, or where they rush you in and out in an effort to maximize "patient flow" (in fact, I had a different dentist in L.A. tell me he "had good patient flow that day" when I asked him how he was doing, so you know it was $ on his mind). I've been to Tubbesing's office many times since the 1990s and never felt like he was trying to sell me unnecessary dental work or "improve patient flow". There's underground parking, and you can validate, but I find it makes for a pleasant experience to park at the nearby mall (free validation there), walk the few blocks to the office, then pick up groceries or whatnot from the mall on the way back. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 12, 2013

Wanted to update this because I saw the 1-star review from someone lower, mentioning a potential degradation of Dr. Tubbesing's service and mental acuity,  so I paid extra close attention to the good doctor during my semi-annual checkup today. Pleased to say I noticed ZERO difference in his behavior or the quality of his work. He was still friendly, chatty, informed, and did a great job on my teeth. All I needed was a cleaning, so you can keep that as a caveat, but far as I could tell he was the exact same terrific, personable dentist I've been seeing for three years now. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 04, 2012

I had a terrible experience recently at another local dentist and decided to search for an "honest dentist" on Yelp and his name was one of the first to come up. So true! The front office staff is lovely and really welcoming. The are open during regular lunch hours which is awesome, came in during lunch hour and even though they were running late I had my complete visit and cleaning and left only a few minutes after 1pm! This was probably the most pleasant dental visit I've ever had. The previous dentist recommended about $250-$300 in work done plus jaw surgery, so glad that I came to Dr. Tubessing's office for a 2nd opinion his recommendation would cost about $80-$95 total & no jaw surgery!! Would totally give him 10 stars if I could, best dentist ever!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 10, 2012

My family and i have been going here for years! (so long i can't even count anymore) And now my daughter goes here for her cleaning. You know he is great when your child  keeps asking when they are going back. As long as he is around myself and family will continue to get all our dental work there. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 29, 2009

I went to Dr. Tubbesing after reading some of the reviews on Yelp.  I have been terrified to find a new dentist after moving to San Diego because of several dentists trying to scare me into expensive dental work, but was forced to make an emergency appointment to tend to a toothache.  The receptionist was so nice, and squeezed me into a cancellation slot within an hour after my initial call.  Dr. Tubbesing is an old-school Navy dentist.  It was obvious he really knew what he was doing, and solved my problem quickly and for very minimal expense (I have no insurance).  The entire experience was great, and they even have free parking with validation.  I will be back for regular cleanings.  By the way, a routine cleaning is $68 for out of pocket patients, I asked before leaving. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.