Patient Reviews

Reviews for San Diego, CA General dentist Dr. Nick Dovey

OUR REVIEWS

Dr. Dovey understands that you have an overwhelming number of choices for dental care providers in the area. This is why he and his skilled team set themselves apart from other practices with their warm, inviting atmosphere and personalized, patient-oriented approach to dental care. When you visit our San Diego, CA office, you're immediately welcomed as a member of our dental family. Offering a range of general, restorative, cosmetic, and periodontal dentistry services, our respected facility will provide you with everything you need to achieve a beautiful smile and optimal oral health. Our office's familial culture is the reason why our patients have been coming back to Finest City Dental time and time again for over 30 years. We invite you to see what our patients have to say about the compassionate care of Dr. Dovey and his team.

Filter30 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from C.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 08, 2019

Dr T is the Most Amazing Dentist in San Diego. Our family has been going to him for 10 years. He is the Best!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 14, 2019

Came in today for a cleaning. Dr. Dovey and his team were great. Happy to have found a new dentist in San Diego. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 14, 2019

I started seeing Dr. Dovey earlier this year and have had nothing but positive experiences. I've come for two cleanings, gotten a cavity filled, and started Invisalign. Each visit Dr. Dovey and his team have been friendly, accommodating, and knowledgable. I know I'm in great hands and would highly recommend to anyone needing a dentist in San Diego. I've also never had to wait past my appointment time which is a huge plus. Thanks Dr. Dovey! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from O.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 06, 2019

I love Dr. Dovey and his staff.  Shannon is awesome, she went beyond duties to help me with my issue.  Bernadette and Kathy are great too!  Thank you, Dr. Dovey, Shannon, Bernadette and Kathy it was a great visit.  I definitely recommend this office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 26, 2019

I received a great, great cleaning and a thorough evaluation of my teeth. Both the hygienist, Bernadette, and Dr. Dovey are very detailed in their work. This is a new practice that replaced my dentist, Dr. Tubbesing. I'm very pleased to recommend it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 03, 2019

Finest City Dental or finestcitydental.com to learn more as too much to write how great they are here. The ultimate goal is we all want to keep our teeth a life time, so make sure you are seeing your dentist regularly.  If you don't have a dentist then interview Dr. Dovey and Team their awesome! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 26, 2019

Exceptional skills and services to ensure dental health. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 20, 2019

Met the new dentist and hygienist who took over for Dr. Tubbesing. They both were great and made me feel welcome. Dr. Dovey has the same dental views and outlook on dentistry as Dr. Tubbesing did. If your looking for a outstanding dental office downtown with great prices then this is your place. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 17, 2019

Dr Dovey got me in and took care of me right away when I had a dental emergency.   He took over my dentist Dr Tubbessing's practice and I know Dr Tubbessing made sure he would continue taking as good of care as he did. I look forward to having Dr Dovey help me with my dental needs. Thanks Dr Dovey More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 24, 2018

Dr. Tubbesing has been an excellent dentist for my wife and myself for many years.     We appreciate that he takes his time to do root canals, crowns, and fillings right each and every time. We see him as being very skilled, caring, easy to communicate with, and benefit from his years of experience.   I am currently in the process of having him do a dental implant. Dr. Tubbesing explained the process in detail and I am confident it, too, will be done correctly. We highly recommend him. Larry B. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 18, 2016

Great Doctor! Very knowledgable, gentle, and thorough. He does what's needed and does not try to sell you unnecessary services. He and his staff are super nice. It's always a pleasure to visit his office. My boyfriend and I have been going to Dr. Tubessing for a few years now and we love him and his staff more and more each time we visit. HIGHLY recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 11, 2016

Dr. Roger Tubbesing could save Webster Dictionary some time as instead of using words for definitions of the words Detailed, Quality, Caring, Remarkable, Brilliant, they could simply put a picture of him.  What an amazing (Another word which could have his picture) dentist & person. His approach to looking out for your dental health is conservative & honest, if you do need any dental care his skills are top notch.  Give him a call, you got to meet Dr. Tubbesing & his wonderful team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 09, 2015

My father is a dentist back in New Jersey, he graduated top ten in his class from NYU dental school...point is I know next to nothing about dentistry so I had my father prescreen Dr. Tubbesing before I went to visit (unfortunately I couldn't fly back to New Jersey for the implication with Molars 13 and 14. Dr. Tubbesing is exceptionally knowledgable and is the first dentist I have ever visited aside from my father. In short, I am very happy I have found a dentist here in California I can trust and feel comfortable with. Also his staff is exceptionally comforting. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 07, 2015

I was looking for a Dentist near Little Italy and through YELP, I found Dr. Tubbesing. I went there today, what a great day! The best Dental visit in years. Dr. Tubbesing, does the cleaning himself, a great way for Dr.to get to see what's going on with one's teeth. He is gentel, kind, thorough and very pleasant. I had gone to a Dentist in Hillcrest and she suggested "unnessary" dental work $$$$; decided to find another non-greedy Dentist.     Thanks heaven's for Dr. Tubbesing! To save money they will call my previous Dentist for my x-rays taken six months ago. No other Dentist would ever do that. By the way his staff, is very friendly and professional just like Dr. Tubbesing. Their prices are most reasonable as well. I walked out of their Office happy with clean teeth, plus I found a honest and excellent Dentist, which is a "rare find this days." Would recommend Dr. Tubbesing highly, you will not be disappointed! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 15, 2014

Dr. Tubbesing was highly recommended by some friends who have been going to him for decades.  I have always had an incredible experience.  He is kind, and extremely competent, as is his receptionist Gail, who has been with him for decades as well.  I live on the east coast and fly in to see them twice a year.  I am saddened by the folks who have left vituperative reviews.   No one is perfect, however, this extremely good (rare!) dentist does not deserve in any way, shape or form abusive personal attacks. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 06, 2014

Tubbesing does his own cleaning. He's always friendly and is good at putting you at ease with conversation while he is cleaning. My teeth always feel clean after he works on them. The office is comfortable: it is on the 7th floor of the old Centre City Bldg, and the two dental chairs have nice views out the window and a nice breeze--one open window faces the water, the other the airport. Another good thing about Tubbesing is his attitude. I've had other dentists where I felt like they were just trying to get me to pay for more dental work than I needed, or where they rush you in and out in an effort to maximize "patient flow" (in fact, I had a different dentist in L.A. tell me he "had good patient flow that day" when I asked him how he was doing, so you know it was $ on his mind). I've been to Tubbesing's office many times since the 1990s and never felt like he was trying to sell me unnecessary dental work or "improve patient flow". There's underground parking, and you can validate, but I find it makes for a pleasant experience to park at the nearby mall (free validation there), walk the few blocks to the office, then pick up groceries or whatnot from the mall on the way back. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 12, 2013

Wanted to update this because I saw the 1-star review from someone lower, mentioning a potential degradation of Dr. Tubbesing's service and mental acuity,  so I paid extra close attention to the good doctor during my semi-annual checkup today. Pleased to say I noticed ZERO difference in his behavior or the quality of his work. He was still friendly, chatty, informed, and did a great job on my teeth. All I needed was a cleaning, so you can keep that as a caveat, but far as I could tell he was the exact same terrific, personable dentist I've been seeing for three years now. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 02, 2013

Dr Tubbesing is an excellent dentist.  He did all the crowns for me and did a superb job.   The temporary crown he creates himself is amazingly good.   He is reasonably priced, honest, knowledgeable, and talented.  I would recommend him to anyone.   Finding Dr Tubbesing was a Godsend for me.   I appreciate what he did for me and the way he always try's to help me anyway he can. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.I.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 07, 2013

He is a wonderful dentist! I have had him for years.  He is so very competent and likable....all the best traits.  The location is no longer convenient but he is worth the trip. I wouldn't change dentists for anything. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 04, 2012

Dr. Tubbesing is a wonderful dentist, with a kind, helpful staff.  I'm almost reluctant to review him because it can take a little while to get an appointment, just because he's so popular.   Dr. Tubbesing is kind, gentle, friendly, affordable and good at what he does.  He's a fundamentally good man and a skilled dentist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 08, 2012

First, the map is wrong, though the address is correct. 233 A St. is between 2nd and 3rd on A, *NOT* at the corner of Front and West A. Dr Tubbesing's office is on the seventh floor of the City Centre building -- you can google "City Centre San Diego" to see the location. I second Scott P's review in every respect: Dr. T. has a great staff, and cleans your teeth himself -- I think so that he will be completely familiar with your teeth. He was very alert to the tiniest details of my teeth, and commented on the dental work I had had before.  He charges a fair price for very good, professional work, and is kind and affable to boot. His downtown location is convienient for those who have just moved into the ballpark area, or those who live in golden hill,hillcrest, south park, north park, etc. A good, honest dentist of the old school -- a rarity these days. He gets my highest recommendation. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 04, 2012

I had a terrible experience recently at another local dentist and decided to search for an "honest dentist" on Yelp and his name was one of the first to come up. So true! The front office staff is lovely and really welcoming. The are open during regular lunch hours which is awesome, came in during lunch hour and even though they were running late I had my complete visit and cleaning and left only a few minutes after 1pm! This was probably the most pleasant dental visit I've ever had. The previous dentist recommended about $250-$300 in work done plus jaw surgery, so glad that I came to Dr. Tubessing's office for a 2nd opinion his recommendation would cost about $80-$95 total & no jaw surgery!! Would totally give him 10 stars if I could, best dentist ever!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 20, 2012

This guy is great! He learned his skill as a Navy Dentist, where they had no profit motive so they learned to do what only had to be done, not what to do to get the most $.  He will explain everything, and he is great with the anesthesia, you don't feel a thing.  They don't have internet but this guy is up to date on the most effective ways to handle your problem.  He was telling me about all the things he read about what works and what doesn't and why he does it this way or that. I found that the money hungry dentist do lots of work on people that are taking care of their teeth.  When I moved to PA I tried to find a new dentist and they wanted to do 6 things on my teeth.  I traveled all the way back to NJ to have my original dentist check his work and he said that I need nothing.  5 years later there was still no work that need to be done.  2 years later I moved to San Diego and I only had one cavity.  So beware! Use this guy he is honest and does great work, he is an artist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 10, 2012

My family and i have been going here for years! (so long i can't even count anymore) And now my daughter goes here for her cleaning. You know he is great when your child  keeps asking when they are going back. As long as he is around myself and family will continue to get all our dental work there. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 29, 2011

Visiting Dr. Tubbesing is such a pleasant experience!  How many people can say that about a trip to the dentist?  I have been going to Dr. Tubbesing for nearly 10 years now. He is professional, skilled, honest and personable.  He makes his patients at ease while in the chair and it's enjoyable to chat with him.   The office building is historical and kinda fun to visit in and of itself! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 09, 2011

I was told that I had 4 cavities that needed to be attended to right away from another dentist.  Considering I have never had a cavity in my life I was beyond shocked. I was then told that I would have to pay an exorbitant amount of money to fill them all. I informed them that I would be getting insurance from my new job over the next few months and that I would wait to return then, to which I was told that insurance companies "get in the way and don't help that much" and that I'm better off taking care of it myself.  I dismissed her statement and decided to wait. So a few months later I schedules a visit with Dr. Tubbesing,  as he came highly recommended from a co worker.  So when I arrived today for my appointment I was bracing myself to have 4 teeth filled and having left them unattended too for the last 6 months, that they would be significantly worse. Well Dr. Tubbesing politely informed me that I was actually cavity free!!!! I was first upset that I was lied too, then immediately grateful that there are still some honest people in the world. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 29, 2009

I went to Dr. Tubbesing after reading some of the reviews on Yelp.  I have been terrified to find a new dentist after moving to San Diego because of several dentists trying to scare me into expensive dental work, but was forced to make an emergency appointment to tend to a toothache.  The receptionist was so nice, and squeezed me into a cancellation slot within an hour after my initial call.  Dr. Tubbesing is an old-school Navy dentist.  It was obvious he really knew what he was doing, and solved my problem quickly and for very minimal expense (I have no insurance).  The entire experience was great, and they even have free parking with validation.  I will be back for regular cleanings.  By the way, a routine cleaning is $68 for out of pocket patients, I asked before leaving. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 18, 2009

Scott P. down there referred me to Dr. Tubbesing when I was looking for a dentist.  And boy am I glad he did.  I was also pleasantly surprised when he cleaned my teeth himself.  I had a couple fillings done and I think he enlisted the help of an assistant for all of 45 seconds throughout the ordeal.  He knows what he's doing.  He filled me in on the best brushing techniques and he actually told me the best way to floss around my fake front teeth so the floss doesn't get stuck in between them.  The dentist that put them in didn't even know how to do that. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 07, 2007

Great old dentist in a great old building!  Dr. Tubbesing is the last of a dying breed- the honest dentist.  When I moved to San Diego five years ago, we moved into the downtown area and I had a terrible time finding a reputable dentist- even though we were getting referrals from professionals who had grown up in San Diego (my wife's dentist was in Escondido, which is half an hour each way from downtown). Eventually we found Dr. Tubbesing- not through a referral, but basically via the internet and he is amazing! He's got a great staff, and cleans your teeth himself- imagine that!  Also, he isn't always trying to convince you to do tons of unnecessary dental work- I went to two dentists immediately before starting to go to Tubbesing who said I needed extensive "preventitive" work that was totally outrageous (according to Dr. Tubbesing.) His downtown location is convienient for those who have just moved into the ballpark area, or those who live in golden hill,hillcrest, south park, north park, etc. More

5.0
Review from Test  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Dec 02, 2014

What an amazing experience! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.